2012-13 Undergraduate Student Awards

Students, parents, and faculty gathered Friday, March 15, 2013 to celebrate the achievements of those students who earned a special award for academic achievement, research, service, and entrepreneurial activities. Prof. Ed Durfee, Chief Program Advisor for CS-LSA and Prof. Fred Terry, Chief Program Advisor for EE presented the awards.

Event Photo Gallery

College of Engineering Awards

Distinguished Academic Achievement Award
This award is presented by the College of Engineering to an outstanding student from each program offered within the College of Engineering. Students are selected by each department on the basis of academic and personal excellence.

David Hiskens, Electrical Engineering
Ryan Roberts, Computer Science
Yan Zhang, Computer Engineering

Harry B. Benford Award for Entrepreneurial Leadership
This award is presented to a student who exhibited entrepreneurial flair and leadership ability, and who has capitalized effectively on the technological and engineering resources available in the College of Engineering.

Keith Porter, Computer Engineering

Arlen R. Hellworth Award
This award is presented by the College of Engineering to undergraduate student leaders who have made valuable contributions to the College, University, and/or community.

Nathan Patel, Computer Science

Cooley Writing Prize
This award is presented by the College of Engineering to encourage engineering students
to explore non-technical fields to develop, broaden, and enrich the their education.

Nick Ruff (Fiction category), Computer Science
Nils Stannik (Non-Fiction category), Electrical Engineering

Tau Beta Pi First Year Award

Lauren Bilbo, Electrical Engineering

EECS Awards

Outstanding Achievement Award
This award is presented by the EECS Department to an outstanding senior student from each of the three programs of study (EE, CE, and CS) in EECS. Students are selected on the basis of outstanding overall academic and personal excellence.

William Beyer, Computer Engineering
Ryan Roberts, Computer Science
Bochao Wang, Electrical Engineering

William L. Everitt Student Award of Excellence
This award is presented by the EECS Department to a top student from each of the three programs of study (EE, CE, and CS). These students are in the top 10% of their class and have an interest in communications and computers, as well as professional interests and activities.

Paul Rigge, Electrical Engineering
Alex Robinson, Computer Science
Yuan Zong, Computer Engineering

Outstanding Research Award
This award is given to students who completed an outstanding research project with a faculty member or graduate student over and above the requirements of a course or an independent project.

Shaobo Liu, Computer Engineering
Calvin McCarter, Computer Science
Tianhua Zhang, Electrical Engineering

Outstanding Service Award
This award is presented to students who have shown exceptional leadership in their student organizations, service to the University, College, or Department, or service to the community.

Samantha Eaton, Computer Engineering
Nathan Patel
, Computer Science
Nils Stannik
, Electrical Engineering

This award is presented to one or more students who exemplify a partnership between engineering and business through involvement in or startup of a private business, patents, or partnerships with corporations, furthering their field of knowledge or interest.

Timothy Jones, Computer Science
Matthew Schulte, Computer Engineering

William Harvey Seeley Prize
This award is presented to an electrical engineering student who stands first in his/her class at the completion of the freshman year.

Kwesi Rutledge, Electrical Engineering

Richard K. Brown Memorial Scholarship
This award is presented to an electrical engineering student who stands first in his/her class at the completion of the freshman year.

Jameson Eisele, Electrical Engineering

EECS Scholars
This award is given to EECS undergraduates of senior standing with a cumulative 3.9 GPA or greater as of Fall 2011.

Yujie An
William Beyer
William Billingham
Anthony Bonkoski
Philip Bunge
Dominic Calabrese
Rui Cao
Haoyang Chen
Thomas Chen
Tie Chen
Luyi Chen
Joshua Cheng
Holly Chiang
Michael Christen
Thomas Dodge
Dejiu Fan
Xuexiu Han
David Hiskens
Di Hu
Yiping Kang
Wei Xiang Khoo
Charles Lacy
Ian Lai
Bowen Li
Ziyun Li
Saurav Lohani
Calvin McCarter
Alex Robinson
Ramestr Sasirajpornchai
Linfeng Shi
Lili Su
Shaoxiang Su
Frank Tan
Yijia Tang
Zhuoyi Tang
Caroline Thompson
Bochao Wang
Chenyu Wang
Jingcheng Wang
Tingyi Wei
Mark Wu
Chun Wu
Yuxiao Wu
Xiao Wu
Yuan Xiang
Yu Xing
Qing Xu
Baishen Xu
Qing Xu
Yanran Yang
Chenyu Yi
Yan Zhang
Bochun Zhang
Yiqun Zhang
Tianhua Zhang
Yunyan Zhang
Jiazhen Zheng
Dike Zhou
Yuan Zong

SURE Awards
These awards provided funding for students to work with faculty members on research projects of mutual interest. Following is a list of projects and participants.

3D Point Cloud Matching
        Student: Brian Fulpur
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Edwin Olson

Ad hoc Personal Communication
        Student: David Adrian
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Robert Dick

Applications of a new Ultrasound Generating Device
        Student: Holly Chiang
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Jay Guo

        Student: Alexander Hakkola
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Euisik Yoon

Characterization and Modeling of Power Electronics Devices of Applications in VHF dc-dc Converters
        Student: Bowen Li
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Juan Rivas Davila

Compressive Sensing
        Student: Shiming Song
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Zhengya Zhang

Design and Fabrication of Thin Film Transistors
        Student: Mykola Kravchenko
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Becky Peterson

Empirical Game Theoretic Analysis
        Student: Guanying Wang, Boyang Zhu
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Michael Wellman

Harvesting Energy from Bridge Vibrations
        Student: Yuan Xiang
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Khalil Najafi

Heterogeneous Main Memory
        Students: Ziyun Kong and Yan Zhang
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Satish Narayanasamy

High-performance Channel Coding for Energy-efficient Communication
        Student: Paul Rigge
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Zhengya Zhang

Non-programmatic Layouting on iPhones and iPads
        Student: Yaqi Ge
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Georg Essl

Non-Tactile Mobile Programming
        Student: Taylor Cronk
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Georg Essl

Participatory Simulations in the Classroom
        Student: Vidal Borromeo
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Elliot Soloway

Recognizing Visual Categories from Images and Videos
        Student: Nicholas Genise
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Silvio Savarese

Solving Hard Problems by Solving Harder Problems Halfway
        Student: Kellen McClain
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Igor Markov

Theory of Quantum Information Processing
        Students: Evan Noon and Ryan Landay
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Yaoyun Shi

Tweets-Search Predictor
        Students: Erdong Li, Shaobo Liu
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Michael Cafarella

Ultra-Low Noise Testing
        Student: Fred Buhler
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Michael Flynn

Ultra-Low Power Circuit Design for Millimeter Sized Sensor Nodes
        Student: Yongdong Li
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: David Blaauw

Unsupervised Feature Learning and Deep Learning
        Student: Norrathep Rattanavipanon
        Faculty Advisor/Mentor: Honglak Lee