2011-12 Undergraduate Student Awards

Students, parents, and faculty gathered Friday, March 16, 2012 to celebrate the achievements of those students who earned a special award for academic achievement, research, service, and entrepreneurial activities. Khalil Najafi, Chair for the ECE Division, and Marios Papaefthymiou, Chair for the CSE Division, presented the awards.

Event Photo Gallery

College of Engineering Awards

Distinguished Academic Achievement Award
This award is presented by the College of Engineering to an outstanding student from each program offered within the College of Engineering. Students are selected by each department on the basis of academic and personal excellence.

Rebecca Frank, Computer Engineering
Paul Rigge, Electrical Engineering
Patrick Theisen, Computer Science

Arlen R. Hellworth Award
This award is presented by the College of Engineering to undergraduate student leaders
who have made valuable contributions to the College, University, and/or community.

Eric Rossetti, Computer Engineering

Henry Ford II Prize
This award is presented by the College of Engineering to an outstanding junior who has demonstrated academic excellence.

Calvin McCarter, Computer Science

Cooley Writing Prize
This award is presented by the College of Engineering to encourage engineering students
to explore non-technical fields to develop, broaden, and enrich the their education.

Nick Ruff, Computer Science

EECS Awards

Outstanding Achievement Award
This award is presented by the EECS Department to an outstanding senior student from each of the three programs of study (EE, CE, and CS) in EECS. Students are selected on the basis of outstanding overall academic and personal excellence.

Rebecca Frank, Computer Engineering
Rebecca Moore, Computer Science
Paul Rigge, Electrical Engineering (also Computer Science)

William L. Everitt Student Award of Excellence
This award is presented by the EECS Department to a top student from each of the three programs of study (EE, CE, and CS). These students are in the top 10% of their class and have an interest in communications and computers, as well as professional interests and activities.

David Bernthal, Computer Science
Anthony Bonkoski, Computer Engineering
Haoran Li, Electrical Engineering

Outstanding Research Award
This award is given to students who completed an outstanding research project with a faculty member or graduate student over and above the requirements of a course or an independent project.

Rebecca Frank, Computer Engineering
Brett Kuprel, Electrical Engineering
Alex Robinson, Computer Science

Outstanding Service Award
This award is presented to students who have shown exceptional leadership in their student organizations, service to the University, College, or Department, or service to the community.

Sam DeBruin, Computer Engineering
Ayrn Lipnicki
, Computer Science
Caroline Thompson
, Electrical Engineering

This award is presented to one or more students who exemplify a partnership between engineering and business through involvement in or startup of a private business, patents, or partnerships with corporations, furthering their field of knowledge or interest.

Mitch Adler, Computer Engineering
Connor Field, Electrical Engineering
Kedao Wang, Computer Science (also Electrical Engineering)

William Harvey Seeley Prize
This award is presented to an electrical engineering student who stands first in his/her class at the completion of the freshman year.

David Hiskens, Electrical Engineering

EECS Scholars
This award is given to EECS undergraduates of senior standing with a cumulative 3.9 GPA or greater as of Fall 2011.

Ryan Anderson (CS)
William Beyer (CE)
Stephen Brown (CS)
Matthew Chegash (CS)
Weicong Chen (CE)
Haoyang Chen (CS)
Holly Chiang (EE)
Ari Chivukula (CS)
Steven Clarkson (EE)
Dejiu Fan (EE)
Connor Field (EE)
Zichao Fu (CS)
Jerome Grunnagle (EE)
Chenxiao Gu (EE)
Di Hu (EE)
Yifei Huang (CE)
Adam Hug (CE)
Tyler Johnson (CS/EE)
Wei Xiang Khoo (EE)
Kevin Kiningham (CE)
Ziyun Kong (EE)
Brett Kuprel (EE)
Bowen Li (EE)
Erdong Li (CS)
Guoxing Li (CS)
Haoran Li (EE)
Yongdong Li (EE)
Yuzhou Liu (EE)
Calvin McCarter (CS)
Teja Ravipati (CS)
Paul Rigge (CS/EE)
Alex Robinson (CS)
Noam Samuel (CS)
Shiming Song (EE)
Caroline Thompson (EE)
Nicholas Triantafillou (CS)
Bochao Wang (EE)
Kevin Wang (EE)
Yuan Xiang (EE)
Kaiyu Yan (EE)
Mei Yang (EE)
Zhen Zeng (EE)
Tianhua Zhang (EE)
Yiqun Zhang (EE)
Yuan Zong (EE)

SURE Awards
These awards provided funding for students to work with faculty members on research projects of mutual interest. Following is a list of projects and participants.

Botnet Detection and Mitigation

Student Researcher: Ari Chivukula
Faculty Mentor: Farnam Jahanian

Brain-inspired Unsupervised Feature Learning for Pattern Recognition

Student Researcher: Joshua Alberts
Faculty Mentor: Honglak Lee

Development and Characterization of Self-Aligned Chip-Level Bonding/Sealing Techniques of Integrated Microsystems

Student Researcher: Bing Zhang
Faculty Mentors: Khalil Najafi, Becky Peterson
Graduate Student Mentor: Ali Besharatian, PhD Candidate

Development of an Embedded Computer Vision Appliance

Student Researcher: Mitch Adler
Faculty Mentor: Edwin Olson

Distributed Sensing System Prototyping

Student Researcher: Yu Guan
Faculty Mentor: Robert Dick

Do You Hear What I See

Student Researcher: Haishan Frances Zhu
Faculty Mentor: Todd Austin

Efficient Memory Utilization in Highly Parallel Digital Signal Processing

Student Researcher: Shuanghong Sun
Faculty Mentor: Zhengya Zhang

Evaluation and Development of Wireless Receivers

Student Researcher: Aramis Alvarez
Faculty Mentor: Michael Flynn

Hardware Security Assurance

Student Researcher: Jialin Li
Faculty Mentor: Valeria Bertacco

High-performance Channel Codes for Power-efficient Wireless Communication

Student Researcher: Haorin Lee
Faculty Mentor: Zhengya Zhang

iPod Audio Jack Energy Harvester

Student Researcher: Andrew Wysocki
Faculty Mentor: David Wentzloff

Micro-scale Electrochemistry

Student Researcher: Alyssa Franken
Faculty Mentor: Becky Peterson

MobiPerf Introduction

Student Researcher: Cheng Chen
Faculty Mentor: Z. Morley Mao

Modeling and Analysis of Discrete Event Systems Using DESUMA

Student Researcher: Xinning Shen
Faculty Mentor: Stéphane Lafortune

Non-programmatic Layouting on iPhones and iPads

Student Researcher: Zhongshu Jin
Faculty Mentor: Georg Essl

Optimization of Thermoelectric Thin-film Co-evaporation Process
for Energy Harvesting Applications

Student Researcher: Yi Yuan
Faculty Mentors: Khalil Najafi, Becky Peterson
Graduate Student Mentor: Niloufar Ghafouri


Student Researcher: Paul Stanfield
Faculty Mentor: Tal Carmon

Piezoelectric Thin Film Layer Transfer Using Wafer Level Eutectic Bonding

Student Researcher: Sui Yu
Faculty Mentor: Mina Rais-Zadeh

Power Cube (Gemini Power Meter)

Student Researcher: Samuel DeBruin
Faculty Mentor: Prabal Dutta

Quantitative Web Search

Student Researcher: Alex Wozniak
Faculty Mentor: Michael Cafarella

Recognizing Visual Categories from Images and Videos

Student Researchers: Zhen Zeng, Huade Zhang and Stephanie Gillespie
Faculty Mentor: Silvio Savarese

Solar Cell Device Modeling

Student Researcher: Connor Field
Faculty Mentor: Jamie Phillips

Solving Hard Problems by Solving Harder Problems Halfway

Student Researcher: Sean Zimmerman
Faculty Mentor: Igor Markov

Ultra High-Speed Processor Simulation

Student Researcher: Qingkun Li
Faculty Mentor: Valeria Bertacco

Ultra-low Power Circuit Design for Millimeter Sized Sensor Nodes

Student Researcher: Shimming Song
Faculty Mentor: David Blaauw

Unwanted Traffic: Stop the Spam in Emerging Networks

Student Researcher: Haoyu Jia
Faculty Mentor: Z. Morley Mao


Student Researcher: Kenny Akametalu
Faculty Mentor: Anthony Grbic